Zero to Dapp Tutorial and Windows Operating System

Hi.

I’m a beginner in this. I was trying to follow the tutorial “Zero to Dapp”.

I think there is an incoherence in there. A Mac system seems to be a prerrequisite (see “# 2 Learn about the Blockstack platform”), when in “# 1 About DApps and App Mining” they say “Anyone with access to a Windows, Mac, or Linux computer and some familiarity with a command line should be able to follow along.”

These are those paragraphs:

1 About DApps and App Mining

. . .
### Skills you need to follow this tutorial
This tutorial is written for developers and others who want to learn about DApps and how the Blockstack ecosystem supports their development. As a result, the target audience is intentionally broad. Anyone with access to a Windows, Mac, or Linux computer and some familiarity with a command line should be able to follow along.

2 Learn about the Blockstack platform

. . .
Get prerequisites and set up your environment

To follow the procedures in the rest of this tutorial, you need the following:

A Blockstack ID (identity) to test your Animal Kingdom.
Access to **the Mac terminal window** and some familiarity with the command line it provides.
An installation of the XCode command-line tools to support Node Package Manager (npm)
The Node Package Manager package manager.

Follow the procedures in this section to install these components.
. . .

Then, can I follow this tutorial with (just) a Windows Computer?

Thanks a lot.

1 Like

@felixium.id.blockstack Right now, the first release of the tutorial assumes a Mac/Linux environment. The parts that are Windows specific are in the NPM installation which is a bit more involved on Windows. If you install NPM on your system, you can follow the tutorial. I tested but have not written up the specific steps on Windows. You can follow the Windows installation instructions here.