User Installation requirements

Hello,

I am new to BlockStack and would like to explore how best to build apps. I have seen the videos provided and read much of the content. The development environment is familiar since I have been using PWAs (with NodeJS on the server side). In short, super excited to soil my hands.

But one thing I don’t seem to have a grip on is in the production environment.

(a) How does the user get access to the App? Is the user expected to be provided some link (via Website, Facebook etc) ?

(b) What does the user need to have to install the App?

© The developer examples show the downloading of the BlockStack.api to the local computer and the running of the local NodeJS server. If this is required how do all this get conveniently packaged for the user.

Thanks and looking forward to working on an idea that I have.

• R

@Raju Thanks for picking up Blockstack! Let me try to answer your questions.

1. The user would follow a link. In the example of the blogging application that would be guildblog.com. That URL serves the single page JS application.

2. In order to use the Blockstack features (Identity, Storage, etc…) of the Guild Application users would need to have installed the blockstack-browser. This allows the user to authenticate with the application and provide the application access to their storage. There are no per application installation requirements here. The user just needs to have Blockstack installed.

3. Hopefully the above explanation helps a bit.

Jack

1 Like

Got it.

Thanks,

• Raju

This is the way it works now but got few questions :

• Is it going to be improved in the future, from a UX perspective… installing an app (or browser, but for the regular user, it’s the same) in order to use an app is a deal breaker. Do you have technical constraint here or it’s a choice in order to get a global and centralized ecosystem?

• how this works for mobile app? The user will have to install an app from the store?