Persisting data to a database for a blockstack app

Hi all,

I am new to Blockstack’s technology and trying to get acquainted. I looked for a topic for a question I have but wasn’t able to find one.

Let’s say I have an app that needs to store complex data - such as relational data in postgresql, graph data in a dgraph, or document data in mongodb. Does the Blockstack storage api work in such a way that instances of these databases could be running somewhere and serving data to an application?

Also, in cases where an application is collaborative, say I wanted to clone a team task management tool like Asana and run it on Blockstack, how is user ownership of data maintained when there are multiple users adding data to a single application data store?

2 Likes

Because of the way Gaia works there is currently no way to “hook up” a relational, or other datastore. Gaia just supports simple getFile() and putFile() file operations. We need to build higher order datastructures on top of this simple key/value store. We have started to put together some thoughts on how this might be organized if you want to take a peek: https://github.com/blockstack/gaia/tree/master/datastores_working_group

We are calling this feature “Multi Reader Storage” and it is just getting added in. You can follow the progress here: https://github.com/blockstack/blockstack-browser/pull/1129

Hi, this is a bit old thread but I am actually searching for the same answer. I am using multi-reader example in my app, so getfile, putfile, lookup etc. is working.

Now I want to store app-specific data somewhere. Let’s say I am building a chat, I need the app to store somewhere the users who have added each other. For another example, let’s say in a decentralized slack version, I would need to store the user-created channels and their participants. If I store them in a mysql database on my server, that will become a single point of failure.