Nakamoto SIP: Economic CAB Review Summary

Hey Stackers, I am a core developer and the writer of the Nakamoto SIP who took the draft Nakamoto SIP into the final iterations that are being voted on. This post will summarize several conversations driven by the Economic CAB’s review.

I want to thank each member of the CAB for their thorough review and productive discourse, we were able to sort out their concerns and add some further clarity to the SIP that benefits everyone. Fundamentally, there are no major design changes recommended, but I’ve outlined some important tweaks and clarifications that are being added to the SIP.

These are the initial concerns raised by the Economics CAB around the Nakamoto SIP:

• Bitcoin Finality
    • Concern: Finality isn’t reached after two Stacks blocks.
    • Resolution: Finality is actually reached after two tenure changes, corresponding to two Bitcoin blocks. The design accounts for this, no changes needed.
  • Orphaning on Bitcoin Hurts Finality
    • Concern: Orphaning on the Bitcoin blockchain prevents Nakamoto from achieving Bitcoin level finality.
    • Resolution: The finality of Stacks transactions after the Nakamoto release have the same finality as transactions on the Bitcoin Blockchain. As expected, reorganizing in the Bitcoin blockchain has the same impact on the Stacks blockchain. The design accounts for this, no changes needed.
  • Miner transaction replay
    • Concern: Transaction replay from orphaned tenures is required for the Nakamoto fast blocks to be useful.