Building a saas on Blockstack

Hello,

I’m in the early stages of building a saas product for small product-based businesses. I originally began this process using Firebase as my backend, but now I’ve found blockstack which offers some really compelling options that gets me off of a Google stack.

That said - my end users aren’t going to be software engineers or blockchain enthusiasts, they are everyday small business owners who either won’t have the knowhow, or the interest in setting up an AWS account to get an S3 bucket to store their data on. So I’m trying to see if there is something I’ve missed in the docs that would remove this source of friction for non-technical users? I do plan on charging a small amount for the product to cover operating expenses - trying to keep these costs as low as possible though. Is there a way I could setup the bucket for them and offer them that storage through their payment to use the service?

I’m still new to the decentralization concept - let me know if I’m missing something here, or if I should be looking at this differently.

Thanks for your insights,
Deven

Yes – you can run a Gaia hub on your users’ behalf. Once you have a Gaia hub running, you’d have your users go into their Blockstack Browser Settings page and change their Gaia hub URL from https://hub.blockstack.org to whatever your Gaia hub URL is. Some Blockstack apps like Graphite already support this – customers install their own Gaia hub and share it with their coworkers this way.

This is relatively new functionality and will be improved upon more in Q4 of this year.

2 Likes