Bitcoin Summer

I’ve seen discussions of a Bitcoin Summer in the decentralized Stacks ecosystem which is this idea that various devs in the ecosystem can pick a few key things to focus on during a 10-week sprint/hackathon.

I’m an engineer at heart and miss the days when I could spend more time coding. Some of the most productive times I’ve had building stuff were in small teams with tight deadlines. What I like about the Bitcoin Summer idea is that it can help open-source devs to organize in small groups and sprint towards concrete goals this summer. There is so much excitement around building on Bitcoin these days and such a sprint can help build momentum across the decentralized ecosystem.

With that context in mind, here are some things that have come up in various working group meetings as the top things that working groups want to make progress towards:

(1) sBTC mini: the current sBTC working group (my company Trust Machines participates in this group) has been making solid progress: see this UX of sBTC test coins. The current WG plan is to publish sBTC as a smart contract on Stacks L2 first. This step does not require any consensus-level changes. This enables the Bitcoin threshold wallet to go live on the Bitcoin L1 and devs can test the full flow of sending BTC on L1 and using sBTC on Stacks L2 in a more centralized/white-listed manner and without consensus integrations. Once this part is live, then focus can shift to the consensus-level integration of sBTC and full decentralized launch.